Skip to main content

Happy New Year - 2010

Back from a very good trip to Aamchi Mumbai for Christmas and New Year. The journey to Bombay was anything but.

The Hell-Ride
A regular 19 hour bus ride compounded to 24 hours and that too in an ST bus. Last minute ticket booking did not help the cause one bit. Left Bangalore on December 24 via Majestic for a 4PM start through Karnataka and Maharashtra. While I was booking the ticket, I knew that I would not be travelling via the comfortable Volvo but little did I know that the 'downgrade' would be this nasty. A little while past 3:45PM, after an uneasiness to locate the bus to Bombay, I stumbled upon an old lady to ask whether the bus had arrived. To my heartbreak, she pointed to the bus behind me and said, "Yeh raha Mumbai ka bus". An old ST bus crammed with people and luggages. I get to my seat, the very last row of the bus, which unfortunately seated 6 well-built men, including me (and when I say well-built, one was a Yokozuna, you can imagine the thrill-ride I had bargained for).

NH-7 was completely under-construction for road-widening and fly-overs and I am sure some one from the bus is suffering from lung-congestion as I write this. Dust-filled roads caused the windows to be locked and while it was hot enough for the thinnest person to start sweating, it didn't help when old used socks started showing their true colours, rather their true smell. In between the many halts, the closed windows and the dust storm, the bus finally made its way into Maharashtra in the wee hours of Christmas morning.

At Satara, I couldn't wait to empty my bladder and also to take a dump. Took a crap in possibly the dirtiest shit-hole you will find on earth. Ya, it was that bad. Further unloading of passengers in Pune made the ride a bit more comfortable but it couldn't quite compensate for the roller-coaster of a ride through the middle of the night.

Home Sweet Home
Reached home on Christmas day afternoon and after a hearty meal prepared by mommy dearest, I took a nap which was one of the most comfortable ones that I have taken in a long time. No deadlines to work with, no early morning phone calls, no Yokozuna leaning on the shoulders. Wow.

Took off for our once-in-a-month temple trip to Chembur and then to see relatives whom I hadn't seen in a very long time. It was nice to catch up with folks and hear the same questions about "when are you going back to the USA?" or "when is Kirti coming back?".

3 Idiots
Thanks to Shetty saab, Amma, Appa and I caught with up a night show of 3 Idiots. While all 3 of us enjoyed the movie thoroughly, for me, it didn't quite match the funny-ness of the Munnabhai series. As Shetty saab had rightly pointed out earlier, the movie did have a character just like me, Chatur Ramalingam. Not quite 100% but definitely shades of me.

New Year in Vasind
Met with parents-in-laws over 2 days and went on a temple tour with them as well. Feel a lot more comfortable with them now than in the previous 4+ years. Good sign, isn't it.

While it may not have been a conventional New Year party, it definitely did not feel anything less. Went to Vasind for a night of prayers as it was an auspicious moment. I had never seen my Guru so drunk..drunk with devotion that he sang and danced his way into the night, praising the Lord. A moment that shall stay with me for a long time. Not once did I feel bored or left out in Vasind. Good times.

Avatar
Caught a show of James Cameroon's Avatar with Mayank a day before my trip back. Great movie and a great experience. Made a trip to VESIT, yes VESIT of all the places and re-lived some of the good ol' days of Engineering. The place has changed significantly but still retained some of the 1998-2002 like atmosphere. Surreal. Shetty saab joined us later for dinner and some ru-ba-ru and ended up knowing our 'bhavishya' from a 'jyotishi' at the hotel we were having dinner at.

Wound up my trip yesterday and made a comfortable 19 hour ride on an AC Volvo to Bangalore. Lots of good times and lots of good fun.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Please Help

While I have been blogging for nearly 2 years now and that visitors (like you) are fairly low in number, I would still like to know who you are. Although I know one of my UA friend is a regular here (and yes, it is you Hari), I don't know who are the other frequent fliers. If you choose to remain anonymous, that is also fine, but kindly leave a comment or two in the message box that is on the right side of the webpage. I am trying to get a feel for how often do you stop by. The reason I am asking you to do this is because I need your help. No, it has nothing to do with donations or anything monetary, but here I am in my third month in Bangalore and I am absolutely bored. I need some suggestions to utilize my time efficiently and effectively. Please refrain from suggesting using the gym or joining a book club. These 2 are not my cuppa tea. My mind is 100% blank about extra-curricular activities and I need some 'external' help. One of my closest friends had suggested joining...

Customer Service Anyone?

Today, I had to "let go" of my first and only employee. She did some decent work for us but there were times when she would not come to work at all and K & I would have to share the work left behind by her. Happened a couple of times last week but got to know later that she was not in the best of conditions to work. Moreover, with a new month starting, we thought, her services were not really required on a daily basis. Just when the need arises, she would be summoned. Guess whose services were terminated: ________________ Last week we had a horrendous experience with TWO service providers (retail), from whom (1) we had purchased a rather expensive product and (2) we wanted to get their services for digital TV. Customer service has a long way to go in India. With the retailer (Croma), we almost cancelled the purchase but the product made its way just as we were getting to the point of barging into their store and demanding our money back. The TV wall mount did n...

The only reason I write this...

So last time around, I missed writing about a new thing that we did for the first time. We went to a stand-up comedy show at The Improv in Schaumburg. We went to Anthony Jeselnik's show (those who watched the Roast of Charlie Sheen on Comedy Central should know who he is) and it was amazing. Non-stop jokes with a dead pan expression kept the audience in splits throughout the show. He even picked on someone from the crowd and made us realize never to mess with a professional. The woman who got singled out surely learnt her lesson. One thing with these comedians is that no one and no event (however tragic) is off-limits. Case in point, a joke about Casey/Caylee Anthony. So to use the second of our 3 coupons, we watched another show, this time by Greg Behrendt. The profanity-laden show was just average, clearly not the bar set by Jeselnik. And we are still debating on whom to use the final tickets on. So this past week, we had a baby shower for V & S. S, mainly. The surprise party...